PDA

View Full Version : Darwin


Thomas P
August 14th, 2002, 01:48 PM
All Done - Just need to spend some time really doing a scene:

85K Image (http://www.concept40.com/galleries/sciartpost/10182001/Darwin1.jpg)

Masao
August 14th, 2002, 05:13 PM
Hey, Thomas! When did you start using self-illumination for your ships? Is that new for you?

Thomas P
August 15th, 2002, 05:25 AM
:D - No, I've done it on the Horatio and the New Mexico (Stu's ship and Bernd's ship). I was just playing around but don't think they will survive a real scene - I have not got the hang of it yet.

skyhawk223
August 15th, 2002, 05:34 AM
Thomas, A question that has plagued me since I tend to self illuminate my stuff. How are you lighting up the sides of the nacelles? There doesn't appear to be anything jutting out on which to hang a light. I grapple with this a lot because I would like to light up the registry, but find there is no plausible place to mount a light.

Thomas P
August 15th, 2002, 11:41 AM
Well for one, I look at other models where they have done it and notice they never put them ON the ship. They hank them off in space.

What I do is actually model the light on a logical spot (well as logical as I can get) and then put a light there (spot lamp). Where it gets blocked it just gets blocked.

This image shows a little white spot that is the lamp.

http://www.concept40.com/galleries/sciartpost/10182001/bulb.jpg

Thomas P
August 15th, 2002, 11:42 AM
BTW - here is another pic but in an agressive mode. I used on of AJ Hodges ships as the target.

Fire! (http://www.concept40.com/galleries/sciartpost/10182001/Darwin38.jpg)

Sorry - and one other BIG file.

3/4 side view (http://www.concept40.com/galleries/sciartpost/10182001/darwinbig01a.jpg)

Masao
August 15th, 2002, 04:38 PM
Thomas, that's a most reasonable way of doing things. For for Starfleet Command game mods of my ships, the modelers seem to have put the nacelle registry on a translucent panel lit from below, since for the life of me I can't imagine where a surface light could have been placed.

Hey, what's the distance between that Rommie ship and the Fed ship? Looks like about 50 meters! :)

Thomas P
August 16th, 2002, 05:36 AM
Originally posted by Masao
Hey, what's the distance between that Rommie ship and the Fed ship? Looks like about 50 meters! :)

Yep, that is about right :D

skyhawk223
August 16th, 2002, 05:41 AM
What's a meter? :)

Masao
August 16th, 2002, 05:33 PM
It's about the same size as a yard, only much larger.

skyhawk223
August 19th, 2002, 05:40 AM
Oh. That clears it up.